Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to paint a boat

Default How to paint a boat

I friend asked to me to put this up for him because he doesn't have an account here yet.

RC Fiberglass boat painting tutorial

Intro
    I

Do you have a remote controlled boat that you would like to paint? Well, you found the perfect tutorial. In this article I will show you step-by-step tutorial on how I paint my R/C boats. I am not a professional painter, just a hobbyist.

Process
    II

First, you need to know the procedure. It's actually pretty simple process, the hard part is perfecting it... Think of it as a formula. The formula is SP3. Simple right? Now we need to know what is really stands for... Here it is:

Sand, Primer, Sand, Paint, Sand, Protect

Now that you know the formula you can change it around to fit your needs, Like I did:

Sand, Primer, Sand, Paint, Sand, Decals, Sparkles, Clear Coat

The clear coat acts as protection that's why in the first original formula I wrote "Protect"

Supplies
    III

Second, you will need supplies... I will list out the supplies I use, but this does not mean you necessarily have to use what I use.
    Here's my list:
    Primer
    Paint (red)
    Sparkle Effex
    Lacquer
    Sand Paper (200, 400, 800, 1000 grits)

Procedure
    IV

Now that we've got the basics down it's time to get it going. Here's the procedure:
    1. Sand your boat with 200 grit sand paper
    2. Apply the primer (I use spray)
    3. Sand the primer with 400 grit sand paper
    4. Apply about five light coats of paint and the sixth should be the final heavier coat of paint
    5. Sand with 800 grit sand paper
    Note: Steps 6-7 are optional
    6. Apply on your vinyl decals
    7. Apply on your Sparkle Effex
    8. Use about 2 cans of clear coat (lacquer) on your hull for protection

Your Done!
    Last edited by dddmx3; 01-28-2011 at 06:37 PM.
    After all is said and done, more is said than done.

How about an example of your work?