Thread: 10,000 MaH ?!

Default 10,000 MaH ?!

Ok, to beat a dead horse, here's my question: My friend is running a mean machine with a Nue 1515/1Y, CC240LV, M440,2-2S in series (4S 5,000MAh, 25C total) When he first ran his setup, he blew the caps right off the ESC. He got a new one back from Castle, and now his boat runs for a minute or two, shuts down, then starts up, then shuts down (LVC is set at 12V)...when he called Castle, they keep telling him that he needs at least 10,000MAh...Now I'm no rocket scientist, but I can tell you that I am running the exact same setup in a UL-1 with a M445 and I get 4 times the run and no stutter or shutdown on the same batteries with never any problem! So what could be wrong? Should I advise him to get 2-4S 5,000MaH and run them in parrallel? I know that he's not over-propped (I've actually used a M647 on mine, but it drops the RPM's down too much and I knew that it was pushing it), but I kind of am at a loss as what to advise him, especially when castle is telling him he needs at least 10,000MaH....Any of you gurus got any sound advise or feedback? I don't want him to get to frustrated, plus I want the UL-1 to kick the MM butt when he finally gets this thing dialed in...Thanks to all !.....Norm

He may not need 10,000 mah. 4s1p at 5000mah and 25c is only good for 125 amps constant. I'd runrun 4s2p, or packs with a greater c rating. I really don't think that his esc should have went though. Especially with that small of a prop. Find out how deep his strut is. He could be overloading the prop, or have a wet running hull.

Cool

There is nothing 'wrong' with the ESC. Catamarans have significantly more drag than hydroplanes do, and they simply can't run the same setup without risking overheating. With both boats running an optimized setup, the hydro will win in the speed department every time. Just check the SAW speed records in NAMBA and IMPBA.