Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie!!..got some questions for yall!!

Default Newbie!!..got some questions for yall!!

Ok guys im new to rc boat, and i got an apache for a good deal...so i gutted it and put fiberglass to reinforce the hull...im wanting to go brushless and ill be using 2 EP4500 6 Cell 7.2volt NiMh Sub C Pack in parallel...i also have a prop from a bruhless blackjack which is 1.6" x 2.5".....not sure what kv motor i should get??
    Pro Boat Apache....gutted and glassed...looking for a brushless motor..any ideas??

Welcome to the forum!

Im not real familiar w/ the Brushed Apache. I do have the Black Jack. The stock motor in that is about a 1500KV. I recon that would be a god starting point for you. But go to Lipos asap.

Hobbycity.com = stupid deals on lipos

-Scott

Quote Originally Posted by tiqueman View Post
    Welcome to the forum!

Im not real familiar w/ the Brushed Apache. I do have the Black Jack. The stock motor in that is about a 1500KV. I recon that would be a god starting point for you. But go to Lipos asap.

Hobbycity.com = stupid deals on lipos

-Scott
    ok thanks for the website.....what kind of lipos are good...not sure what discharge or mah?...sorry new to the lipo battery
    Pro Boat Apache....gutted and glassed...looking for a brushless motor..any ideas??

You want a minimum of a 20C. If you can afford it, go 30 or even more. Batteries will stress a lot less. As for mah, in a parallel set up, minimum of maybe 5000 total would be a great start. So 2, 2500s or so. Or if you wanna go and can fit more, go more. Some guys run up to 10k mah. I havent seen it personally. I have seen 8k. Gives a good run time w/ a lot of punch. Just remember, boats stress out equipment a lot more. So coming from planes or cars etc, the amp draw is much much less. Boat equipment gets hot. Whatever you do, check temps often especially on its first couple runs.