Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Help Mini Hydro

Default Need Help Mini Hydro

Hello I have recently acquired Diegoboys Mini Hydro and need some help tuning this thing. I have no hydro experience so go easy. I got the boat to run a straight line well it just wont turn. You have to really creep through the corners. It seems to be stuffing the left side in the water at speed in the turns. It currently has no turn fin. Need some advise on placement, size etc on the fin.

Heres the current setup.

Total lenth is 17.5"
    C.O.G. is at 2 7/8" behind the rear of the front sponson.

Here are some pictures. The last ones are where I think the turn fin should be. Due to the size of the hull would it be okay to mount on the hull and not the sponson? Its tight in there and the ride pad is way in. Should I space it out or should I run it as close to the hull if it's okay to mount it there?

Thanks George
    Attached Images Attached Images

he turn fin should not need to be more than 3/4 inch below the ride pad on that size of the boat. It will make the boat turn. The CG should be in the center of the turn fin. I put the CG about 1.25 inches behind the rear of the ride pad. If the CG can not be moved then move the turn fin back.
    Randy
    For ABS, Fiberglass, Carbon hulls and Stainless hardware
    BBY Racing

Yes the battery is all the way up front. Could I mount the fin to the hull instead of the sponson?

Quote Originally Posted by BakedMopar View Post
    Yes the battery is all the way up front. Could I mount the fin to the hull instead of the sponson?
    No need I quote you said "C.O.G. is at 2 7/8" behind the rear of the front sponson"
    So you put the turn fin in the middle of the COG.
    Randy
    BBY Racing

Okay here is a picture of the middle of the turn fin would be at COG.

as far as placement looks good but no more than 3/4 below the bottom of the ride pad. Like in the picture below.
    Randy
    BBY Racing