Thread: mini thunder miss budweiser!

Default mini thunder miss budweiser!

Here she is. I put the T-400 hop-up motor in, smoothed out the sponson pads, and made a bigger skid fin at work out of .050 aluminum. The skid fin is now a full inch below the sponson. I used automotive base/clear coat for the paint job, and model paints for the driver/engine details. I paint cars for a living, so it was just leftover paint that would have been thrown out anyway. Time=1.5 hours. Cost=FREE!

Very Nice looking
    "Our society strives to avoid any possibility of offending anyone except God.
    Billy Graham

Thanks! Where in Washington are you, Jim?

Seattle
    Billy Graham

I'm Kent.....the land of big hair and Camaros!.....and hillbillies!

Where on the east hill? What did you use for to shoot the paint? Is it PPG?
    Billy Graham

Yep, east hill. Yep, PPG deltron dbc base and deltron velocity clear. Prep was light grey scotch brite and Bulldog adhesion promoter......we use that to make paint stick to new bumper covers for cars...works like a charm!

Very nice!!
    May i ask what was the point in making the fin larger? and how did you come up with the size you made?
    THANKS
    :p What go faster that's what I like to do!
    Custom RC radio steering grips
    WWW.PPRSLOTS.COM

From what I've seen on youtube, this boat does not turn well with a faster motor and the stock skid fin. The stock fin is .5 inch below the sponson, and the one I made is 1 inch. I figured a little more couldn't hurt.....HOWEVER, this boat has not seen water yet! It'll have her maiden voyage this weekend.

My dad used to race RC hydros, but I was too young and he croaked before I really wanted to even get in to it.....the skid fin thing is something he prolly woulda said to make bigga!