PDA

View Full Version : New stock UL-1 pulling 70-90 amps-- HELP!

MT-Tank
06-28-2009, 11:05 PM
( I am a Newbie with approx 30 runs with Blackjack 26)

Just got my new UL-1 two weeks ago. First run in local pond destroyed the prop on a submerged object. Just installed the replacement prop (from Tower) and an Eagle Tree data logger. Two runs on a wide open lake and my batteries were 150 deg F, motor 150 F, ESC 120 F. Batteries are Rhino 4900 20C, brand new.
Data logger showed typical wide-open 65-75 amps, occasional bursts to 85-95 amps. Manual states that 60 amps with bursts to 70 should be the max!

Is this the correct prop?
AquaCraft FRP 3-Blade 40mm Prop (2) SV27
I did clean up the flash and edges on the prop but did not balance it. Do plastic props need balancing?

Is there such a thing as too much grease (blue GrimRacer) on the flex cable?

No other mods except the replacement water jacket.

Thanks!

Ub Hauled
06-28-2009, 11:33 PM
that amperage is too high...
is the boat running wet?
Make sure the prop spins freely and that there is a good gap between the
drive dog and the strut.
Keep in mind that lower C batteries will give you more heat/demand.

This is the recommended prop as per Aquacraft:
UL-1 Superior L40x57/3 AQUB9760

Plastic props give, therefore not perform well... there is also the M445 from Octura, seems to get peoples cost/fun factor in check... but I would not get a bigger prop.

LiPo Power
06-28-2009, 11:48 PM
I had my new UL-1 on water last saturday with Grim 40x52/3 prop and no temp issues. I have try 2 x Thunder Power, 40C, 7.4V, 5000mAh and later 2 x Zippy 5000mAh, 20C, 7.4V. No temp issues at all. Highest temp was 113F on ESC after longer than normal run using TP batteries.

Fluid
06-29-2009, 03:53 AM