PDA

View Full Version : Stability Problem Quastion....

LiPo Power
06-03-2009, 11:02 AM
I am very new to the RC boating and I love it so fare.
This time I would like to ask you PRO boaters to help me out with a little issue I have with my Formula Fastech.
This problem was not there when the boat was out of the box.
I noticed that my rudder mount is not very solid and it has a little play right where is connected to the strut. What would happen if the rudder mount is a little bit too loose? How will the boat react to it?
My boat right now likes to bounce left to right when high speed and it is hard to get full speed for more than few seconds on flat water. It was very stable until the moment when expending foam was add it to the nose of the boat for better floating in case of dive. Prop was changed to X642 but even if the original stock prop is installed the same problem is still there.
Could you please suggest few ideas I can try to see if I can resolve this problem?
Thank You
Robert
:help:

HappyOne
06-03-2009, 12:28 PM
As for the rudder, do you mean at the point where it pivots?

If the only change that you made was to add foam to the bow section, I would suggest that you check two things:

1) Has the hull deformed at all by the expanding foam?
2) Where is the balance point from the transom? Maybe it is nose heavy.

Doby
06-03-2009, 03:16 PM
The foam adds next to no weight. I looked at the hull last weekend and there were no deformations. What LiPo is experiencing now is that the hull no longer rides severley "wet" (bow heavy) as when he first brought it out. Now due to proper strut angle alignments and an upgraded prop that all combined basically added about 8 Mph to the performance of the boat the handeling characteristics have changed. Thats one heck of a difference !!!!!!!