PDA

View Full Version : Why so few FE races in the Midwest?

LuckyDuc
05-05-2009, 11:08 PM
I’m new to R/C boating and the UL-1 has gotten me hooked. Being an experienced electric Heli and EDF jet pilot I thought RC boats were boring. The UL-1 has definitely changed my opinion on that.:thumbup:

As such, I joined both NAMBA and IMPBA hoping to race this season. I also joined 2 R/C boat clubs in my area hoping to jump into fast electric racing via the club circuit.

The club furthest from me (2hrs) is a NAMBA club and is a Fast Electric club. The other club, is an IMPBA club, and is 1 hour from my home. The IMPBA club is mostly nitros with a few gassers mixed in. I’m hoping to convince of few of their members into getting a UL-1 so we have enough to make a class for racing.

I checked both NAMBA and IMPBA’s website for upcoming races in District 4 and was disappointed to find very few Fast Electric races on the schedule in my district, and the few that were listed were 7+ hours from me:(

What gives? There are a ton of nitro/gas races on the schedule, but no FE classes listed. Needless to say I’m bummed. :frusty:

CircusCircus
05-06-2009, 08:27 AM
Nitro still rules in some clubs, I started racing a few years ago and we ran all nitro stuff, but there was a couple guys running SV27 motors in there boats. We let them run with us.

I was and still am a big fan of NITRO, but our local club has had to step-up this year and add a UL-1 class :thumbup: It just takes one person like yourself to show-up with your UL-1 and next thing you know someone else in the club has one.

Keep searching, there are alot of clubs that race that dont make you join NAMBA or IMPBA.

AndyKunz
05-06-2009, 12:57 PM
Unfortunately your District Director died a few months ago, and no replacement has been named. Your best bet is to start by going to the Doug Robichaud Memorial event in Mazomanie June 6 and meeting the many racers who will be there. Hopefully I'll be among them.