PDA

View Full Version : Shockwave 36 brushless conversion

beatyourtruck
04-20-2009, 12:20 AM
Hello everyone. I am a RC boat newbie but well versed in the world of ground RC :) I have wanted an RC Boat for a long time and have now taken the plunge. Time to get my feet wet!

First off, let me say that I have learned a lot from the threads already posted here, especially the other SW36 conversions. I am also impressed by the caliber of the OSE staff and senior members. It is always a treat to find an online community that is so friendly and knowledgeable.

So, I picked up a nice used SW36 hull with all the rear mechanicals off of E-bay. I chose the SW36 as a starting point as I'll be running it in some local rivers (slow moving but can get a little choppy), and thought the size compared to my original plan of a 24" boat would make more sense. now that it is on my bench, a 24" would have been a mistake. The SW36 seems perfect in size.

I am now determining what electronics to equip it with. I am partial to castle electrics where possible and would be using a Hydra ESC and of course the boat will be lipo powered. I am not a racer, but I like speed! A couple of questions to get me started:

1.) It looks like the 580L would be a nice motor for me. Again, I'm not a racer and the price seems very nice on that motor. 1200kv 'ish range should work well. Anyone running a 580L and what do you think of it?

2.) Cooling pickups? The SW has one. Am I better off to add another pickup for dedicated ESC and Motor cooling? Or is the single enough? I would rather lean towards overkill on this particular item ;)

3.) It appears that I'll run 6S or 8S. There are areas just large enough on the left and right sides to hold a 5S pack, so a single 3S or 4S on each side should be great. Anyone running 6S or 8S? Comments on either setup?

Thats it for now.....I am sure I'll have more questions!

Thanks in advance for any advice.

A couple of pics attached :rockon2:

Steven Vaccaro