PDA

View Full Version : Leakage ?'s

barmonkey
04-16-2009, 11:57 PM
Hello All, I have been trying to figure out where I am getting all the extra water from. I have followed Darin's "Race Prep Thread"...but I am new to the sport so I haven't attempted the mods that he performed on his hull. I have tried everything that I can think of to eliminate as much excess water, but still have copious amounts of water in the hull.

Forgive me if you have read this elsewhere, but I have also posted the following at RCU and RCG....

"OK, I have ten runs so far, and it's been fun...but I'm still getting some water in the hull from somewhere. I am really confused as to where it is coming from. As I have stated before: I used a bit of sealant at the strut mount, removed the fake exhaust and taped a piece of foam to the hole in the back of the hatch, and have used a generous supply of hatch tape all the way around the hatch. Now I am sure a bit of water can get in, but not this much!

I have also had one run where I didn't use any hatch tape...and actually forgot to put the drain plug back in...and there wasn't any perceptible gain in water accumulation. I haven't used any sealant on the Rudder mount or the turn fin mount yet BTW. Perhaps I am wrong, but, I just don't think that these areas are the problem as they spend very little time under water.

That leaves the motor's cooling jacket...I have done a flow test using a syringe with no leakage. That is, until I close off the pick-up holes on the rudder. This only yields a slight hiss of leakage. Is there that much pressure generated while it is running?

On the last run, I tried my best to keep it at 1/2 to 2/3 throttle (just enough to keep it on plane) for two laps. I still managed to get a lot of water in the hull...Suggestions!?!"

egneg
04-17-2009, 01:31 AM
I don't know the speeds you are running at but I have seen the tubes blow off from the water pressure so the cooling system very likely is to blame.

barmonkey