PDA

View Full Version : Best prop balancer

Jesse J
05-19-2022, 07:55 PM
I have been using an old (15 yrs) airplane prop balancer, but know there has to be better.
What do the pros use?

mappo
05-19-2022, 09:46 PM
I have been using an old (15 yrs) airplane prop balancer, but know there has to be better.
What do the pros use?

I’ve seen some reviews on this one Du-Bro Tru-Spin Prop Balancer DB499, I just ordered one myself

NativePaul
05-20-2022, 05:45 AM
I'm not a pro, but I use one of the generic cheap chinese boat prop balancers that can be found with a dozen different band names, modded with a piece of microscope slide glass over the magnets which freed it up a lot ( i think the neodymium magnets in these are too soft to be ideal for use, maybe copper then nickle plated rather than copper then chrome). I have used a few balancers and this is the best of them.

Neither of the 2 pros I know use static balancers at all, both ballance dynamically, 1 spinning the prop on a shaft in his well trained fingers, and 1 spinning the prop mechanically at 10,000 rpm with sensors. Both get a better result than I believe is possible with any static ballancer.

As an aside, while it is nice to have a well ballance vibration free driveline when you give it a blip of throttle to check things are working in the pits, I am not sure how much it matters or if it even matters at all on the water when we are driving hundreds if not thousands of Watts through the bottom blade when the top blade is basically doing nothing. That is something I don't hear being discussed and I would like to hear others opinions on it.

dasboata
05-20-2022, 07:31 AM
What do the pros use?

text sent don't go checking my props now LOL

longballlumber
05-20-2022, 08:42 AM