PDA

View Full Version : Chop’s PT Boat

Chop
01-26-2009, 07:31 PM
O.K., this is my first attempt at building a boat from a kit, and my first scale boat as well. I just wanted something that was a little different than your usual “race boat.”

The model is a Lindberg Limited Edition PT-109. I don’t know if I will keep the 109 designation – it’s probably been way overdone. Maybe I’ll do PT-73 from McHale’s Navy??? Or PT-694, the real designation of the boat used in the action shots for McHale’s Navy.

The hull and parts are plastic.

Powder for the craft will be provided by 2 M.A.C.K. Products 3150 brushed motors (12v, 4.5 amps – max.) and the ESC is a Proboat Riptide (Continuous Maximum Current: 40 amps, 4-10 cells, w/ BEC & reverse)

The Photos are the parts out of the box and the beginning stages of construction.

Jimmy Sterling
01-26-2009, 10:35 PM
Can I ask where you got the kit from

Thanks
Jimmy :tiphat:

Chop
01-26-2009, 11:36 PM
From Mack Products (http://www.mackproductsrc.com/index.htm).

Seems like a pretty good store. You can't order on-line though, but if you call you can talk to them and ask questions. You can then order over the phone.

Chop
01-26-2009, 11:53 PM
The deck of these boats were made of wood. From what I understand much of the boat was in order to save steel. The picture on the cover clearly shows this. I was not sure how I could transform the green plastic into wood without too much work. I finally settled on a wood grained shelf liner picked up at the local building supply store. I think with a good layer of polyurethane it should seal pretty well.

It doesn't look too bad either.

lomdel
01-27-2009, 05:55 AM