PDA

View Full Version : Do radar guns work for accurate speed?

StephenLilly
09-27-2018, 09:20 AM
Trying to decide between gps or radar gun? I know gps will work but it would be nice to just point and shoot with a radar gun and not have to take the time to remove tape from the hatch everytime to see speed. Making adjustments to look for improvements i.e. Prop change, trimming etc. on the spot would be much better with a radar gun if accurate. I see bushnell has one for around $50, about what I could get a cheap gps for. Thanks.

pescador
09-27-2018, 09:47 AM
I’ve been using Pocket Radar for a few years now and its been great for prop testing and it fits in a shirt pocket, it only has range for the front straightaway but it’s pretty handy confirming speed when you think a prop is a little faster (or slower).
https://www.pocketradar.com/collections/frontpage/products/classic-radar

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

HTVboats
09-27-2018, 12:41 PM
I have been looking at the "Pocket Radar" for some time. When you say range for a front straightaway what kind of distance do you get a reading from?
Mic

pescador
09-27-2018, 01:05 PM
The boats have to be coming towards you or going away from you for radar to work, from our pits it can reach both ends of our course on the front straight. There are a couple guys using them now usually for speed at the end of the straight into turn one.
So to answer your question I’d say it’s about 150’, from the pits to turn one.

Prodrvr
09-27-2018, 01:11 PM
Whatever you do, don't buy that $90 Bushnell...not even close to accurate. That pocket radar looks good. The next one up from that is a Stalker ll, but at $550, pretty expensive.

Peter A
09-27-2018, 03:24 PM
Why not get an RCM telemetry set from here? You can get speed from it straight to your phone, also other data. No need to untape untill battery change.

https://www.offshoreelectrics.com/proddetail.php?prod=ose-83279-v2

pescador
09-27-2018, 03:55 PM
Waiting for the IPhone version :)