PDA

View Full Version : to build or to buy? question from a total newb lol.

2-BROKE-2-BE-FAST
07-27-2017, 09:33 PM
First off let me say, I love that I found a forum full of real deal boat guys with knowledge and experience! Not just buy a Spartan and be happy type of guys and gals. Not that anything is wrong with the Spartan just not my thing lol. Well here we go, when I say I'm green to boats I mean green!! Lol. I have been building and racing surface cars for years so I'm sorta comfortable building. Just don't think I'm ready for scratch hull building yet. I do have sort of a limited budget, I'd like to stay 5-600 for a first boat. My question is should I go rtr type boat or start with a bare hull? I'm partial to the latter so I'd just like to pick some brains about hull choices, I'm leaning towards cat or v about 30-35". What are some opinions on reasonable hulls and power plants that won't break the bank? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Heck, I just like to talk about anything rc in general lol. So thanks again and please don't be too rough on me, I didn't have much luck with the search bar lol.

NativePaul
07-28-2017, 03:54 AM
It sounds like you should buy a hull and fit it out yourself, much more satisfying than just buying a RTR, and yet much less daunting than building a boat for a first timer (though it can be done).

Other than that, sorry but I am not going to answer your questions, we need some more information from you first.

As you have been running surface for a while is it safe to assume you still have a radio? How about a charger?