PDA

View Full Version : new to fast electrics. asking for some advice....

vinnyp
04-04-2017, 09:03 AM
Hello,
I first would like to introduce myself and a brief background. I am from Long Island New York. I recently joined this forum. I am new to rc boats. I have been into full size fast power boats for a very long time. In fact, I own 27' Checkmate powered by a 572 cu in Chevrolet that I built and rigged myself. I also work in a boat yard as a mechanic. I am finding this hobby very interesting as things that effect a full sized boat, effect these rc boats just the same. Pretty cool stuff going on here.
I recently purchased an AquaCraft Motley Crew. The only thing I added is a Grim Racer 42mm x 55mm beryllium prop. Reading some threads from here, I just ordered an updated flex cable and an octura m445. I am not looking to get too crazy with mods. However, as with all of us, the desire for more speed has bitten me once again. I have been looking at upgrading the stock AquaCraft 1800 kv motor, for AquaCrafts 2030 kv motor. Would this be a decent upgrade? If properly set up, how much faster would the 2030 motor be over the 1800? Would my stock ESC handle this motor?
Thanks for any assistance....Looking forward to hanging around here and learning about fast electrics.

T.S.Davis
04-04-2017, 11:09 AM
"upgrade" might not be the right word. More rpm per volt but it's not a better motor than the 1800. The 1800 can take more prop before it gets all pissed off. A concept that isn't likely foreign to you. You could get a little more mph out of the 2030 but not tons.

The Motley can take more RPM but if your looking to actually "upgrade" you should think about swapping brands of motor. Maybe try a TP3630 1950kv. Or a similar Leopard motor . The numbers for the TP are very similar under load to a AQ 2030 but the quality is better and it's less likely to fail if you guess wrong on the prop. Same thing here though. You're going to only get moderately faster.