PDA

View Full Version : Near finished w/ first boat, 8 scale T5 hydroplane, epoxy fiberglass and carbon fiber

nichismo
08-05-2015, 01:21 AM
Hey guys, although its not finished, I really wanted to share as I feel like I need the most tips and precautionary information I can get my hands on before I go out for my maiden voyage. This boat was difficult to say the least, very steep learning curve and I quickly realized how in over my head I had gotten just a week into recieving the hull.

However, with some patience, and some extremely helpful individuals here on offshore electrics (one individual in particular who has been just outstanding and far more generous then ive ever been), I have been able to progress to the point I am at now. Now I must say that not only is this my first build and I have no experience driving either, im also not exactly a craftsman either. I did my best to basically mimic the ML boatworks scale builds that I have seen, as I really trust in ML boatworks design philosophy and I have never seen a boat from Mike that didnt run well. That being said, I still made mistakes and also I have been very picky. Alot of trail and error, and error usually meaning tearing out "permanently" installed materials/components, lol.