PDA

View Full Version : Carbon fiber and other questions.

Serpent67
07-09-2015, 07:43 PM
Hi all. I have a had a boat for a couple years now. It was a gen I got off CL for a good deal, but because of work I shelved it and just getting to mess with it now. The previous owner had upgraded it some and it moves pretty good on 6s. I dinged the front left point up shoring it and would like to fix it. What would be a good fiberglass filler to do that? It also has a couple little chips here and there that need attention. I figured since I was doing that, I would just go all out and makeover the whole cat. When laying carbon in the bottom, how many layers are used to stiffen the hull and how far in, and up the sides? Also, what resins? I've never done stuff like this before. Any other upgrades to the hull you all could suggest, I am all ears. I want to get this boat as good as can be and then get a empty mono hull and build one of those from scratch. I'm pretty good at stuff once I know what to do. Thanks for any info.

Heath M
07-09-2015, 08:38 PM
I recently took the tip of my Carbon fiber mono, lucky for me it was a solid tip so I just used Builders bog to fill it in and reshape it. Has held up well since.
Normally 1 layer of CF is good enough to stiffen the hull and most the guys on your side of the world use West Systems laminating epoxy. There are some good threads around on how to lay up a hull, just do a search.
Good luck and don't forget to post pics :)

Serpent67
07-10-2015, 06:42 PM
Thank you Heath.

lt130th
07-13-2015, 03:06 PM