PDA

View Full Version : 1st Build Mean Machine 2 - guidance appreciated

Dortiz68
05-21-2015, 02:09 AM
I'm starting my 1st FE boat build. The hull is a Mean Machine 2. I've think I've got all I need except the a motor which is currently not in stock. I've never done this before and other than reading some forum posts I'm not really sure what I'm doing so your advice is welcome.

From what I've gathered, I believe the steps are as follows:
1. Install rudder - mount centered left to right and centered veritically.
2. Then mount servo and connect linkage.
3. Then determine location of stuffer tube.
4. Bend and install stuffer tube.
5. Then mount motor centered left to right.
6. Mount cable
7. Mount ESC and receiver.
8. Complete water cooling system.
9. Test for leaks.
10. Install flotation in sponsons and hatch.
11. 1st run testing.
12. Disassemble for primer and paint.
13. Reassemble painted boat.
14. Test for leaks.
15. 2nd run test

From what I read, this is the outline of my build. Any feedback, pointers or advice is much appreciated.

Daniel

Dortiz68
05-21-2015, 02:13 AM

Bduncan
05-24-2015, 01:26 AM
most of the fine tuning will come with experience.
Here's my advice from someone that doesn't take his own. Take your time and dedicate a max of an hour or so of time for work session. Work on it when you are fresh, focused and the likelihood of being distracted is minimal. If you you don't have the right tool, epoxy, part etc... Be patient and get it. Do it right the first time. Boats are interesting creatures. Outside of the relatively extreme high rpms and amps, you have moisture balance and precision to contend with. Other than jets and helicopters, boats will break more than anything with a weak link.
Lastly, put the boat out of sight when you are not on it and set goals for what you would like to accomplish.

Heath M
05-24-2015, 03:24 AM
looks good,