PDA

View Full Version : New Proboat Blackjack 24 shipped with wrong prop?

themastiffman
03-12-2015, 02:03 PM
Hello everyone, first post here. I have been lurking for a while trying to learn as much as I can and you guys are a very smart group and this is a great place for newbs like me! I have two boats, a shockwave v3 bl and a new Blackjack 24. the shockwave has a 1.6 x 2.5 prop stock and runs great with it "I am just a recreational hobbyist and this boat is fast enough for me and the area I run it in". I just recently bought the blackjack 24 and it says that it comes with a 1.34 x 2.08 prop stock I believe. When I opened up the box, it actually had the same prop installed as the shockwave. I asked horizon about it and they had no answer, they did not know if the spec had changed so they put in a question to proboat about it but it has been almost a week and no answer. Now, I believe that with the 4 pole 2000 kv motor in the blackjack not having anywhere near the torque of the 1500 kv 6 pole that is in the shockwave, if I run this boat as is I am likely to experience one or more things going up in smoke. Am I right? I don't see how the blackjack's motor can spin that big prop but I wanted to ask you guys first since I cant get an answer from Proboat and I am still an idiot about these things. Thank you for your time.

DBJr
03-12-2015, 08:36 PM
Hi there

You don't need to feel like an idiot. All of us were newbies at some point. I'm still fairly new to the hobby myself. Been involved for about 2 years now.

As for the Blackjack 24, I believe it does come with the Shockwave 26 prop. I also noticed the 1.34 x 2.06 prop listed and therefore, I ordered the stainless steel version of the 1.34 x 2.06. When it arrived along with the boat, I noticed it was way too small and it did not fit on the prop shaft either.