PDA

View Full Version : Expectations 1/8 scale hydro electric conversion

PJBJ
01-03-2015, 03:29 PM
Years ago I built a dumas model of the 1/8 scale miller hydro with solid shaft. I fitted a 15 cc K&B engine and looked at it for some years (I am a builder) without getting the boat wet. Finally I decided to convert the boat to electric (on a budget) in such a way that I can change back to the K&B engine setup. I purchased the following setup: Aquastar 4084 1050 KV motor and Turnigy 180 Amp ESC with a 55mm diameter prop. The space in the fuel tank compartment is limited and I now have a Roxxy 6s 3300 Mah 25C continuous discharge rate fitted in. Burst rate for approx. 10 sec. is 50c which gives me 165 Amps. I realize that the lipo could be stronger but this is what I have. Total weight 6 kg. I do not plan to race but would like to give the boat a try on a nice day and maybe push the throttle for a couple of seconds just to see what it does. I am curious what the more experienced rc boaters will respond regarding my expectations of this setup.

Doby
01-03-2015, 04:24 PM
Where to start......

Those old Dumas hulls are porky and need a lot of power to run them.

Your motor is physically to small, KV to low...about 22,000 RPM unloaded.

Lipo C rating and capacity are insufficient (assuming a 1P configuration)....burst rate is useless to try and figure out average current draw. Current draw is more based on motor kv, voltage, prop and hull type, weight, overall setup. I doubt that weak of a Lipo would even plane it and if it did, would be dead in about a minute.

ESC , while those are good ESC's in the right boat, a 1/8th scale on 6S will probably destroy it...especially with a 55mm prop(to big).

Big boats and "on a budget" are never very successful.

If you are determined to stay with those components, then keep it nitro.

monojeff
01-03-2015, 05:18 PM
I know that some guys out here had great success with scorpion out runners in 1/8 scale boats.