PDA

View Full Version : What happens if your Motor Runs Hot?

MaxxPain
09-09-2008, 11:57 PM
I have a few questions. I’m new to the Blackjack and are running 8000 Maxamp Lipo’s. Boat is all Stock. I set the programmer to

Battery Type: Lipo
Cutoff Voltage: High
Cutoff Type: Slow Down
Brake: Off
Timing: Low
Throttle Curve: Linear

I’ve only ran the boat 5 times so far. But one thing I have noticed is after driving the boat for about 10 to 15min, it’s a bit slower. Not quite as much punch as when I first started. I also tape the lid with the Hatch Tape at all 4 corners to keep the water out. I have also lubed the shaft after the first run. I have noticed on one run quite a bit of water in the hull, I would guess about a cup or so. I was wonder if this was weighing my boat down is the issue. But after emptying it, it didn’t seem to be much faster. It was better, but after reading some posts here. I was wondering if it was the timing I chose. Could the motor be running hot possibly? I never thought to check to see if the motor was hot. I always see water pumping out the side so I knew it was cooling. So I wanted to ask if that sounds like a hot motor or could it be something else.

Thanks Brad

Ub Hauled
09-10-2008, 12:49 AM
A couple of things I have to mention here...
running the boat for 10-15 mins is a loooong time. you may be depleting your batteries.
The BJ is 26" long and a cup of water should not make a big difference in the speed.
Now... you NEED to check the motor temps! Not only will a hot motor make the boat slow down but it will destroy the magnets and eventually it will destroy the ESC as well... your settings are good but that is not what will dictate the temps of the motor alone... the strut setting have a big role in it. Make sure that the strut is not too deep in the water.
When you tape the hatch down are you taping the entire seem or just the corners? It should be the whole thing... none of the seem should be exposed.