PDA

View Full Version : Joysway UH-1 Catamaran Model number 9112H

fidelity101
08-18-2014, 12:34 PM
I'm new to electric boats, I've had a gas Warehouse Hobbies Team Enforcer Pro for a few years and thought I'd try my hand at electrics. I purchased the Joysway UH-1 (http://www.ebay.com/itm/231292164109) and it looks like a beautiful boat.

The good:
- Motor and ESC seem to stay very cool on 8S.
- Boat runs well on 6S wit decent speeds...I was using a 6S 5000mah pack
- Looks!...This boat just looks cool!

The bad:
- Hull quality. The boat fell apart when attempting to run the boat on 8S using two 4S 4000mah 25C battery packs. The boat failed BIG TIME as the seem gave way and the boat seemed to crumble. Here are some before and after pictures.
- Battery tray and CG. The battery tray will accept two 4S 5000mah packs but not much more. That should be enough for 4 minute run times. The hull comes out of the water quickly as the batteries are placed between the sponsons. I think this boat would benefit from two 8S 5000mah packs with one pack being placed over each sponson for some nose weight and improved run times.

Verdict:
- I would definitely buy another one if I could find a good price, but I would spend a few days adding carbon fiber cloth and epoxy on the inside and around the entire joint section where the top and bottom hull sections meet. The overall hull is approximately 1/16" thin and it appears that quick setting resin was the only thing used to hold the hull pieces together.

Here are the pictures I managed to take before and after the hull failure. I am still waiting to hear back from the ebay seller as to a replacement hull...they do not appear to be overly willing to help get me back in the water anytime soon.119627119626119628119629

Doby
08-18-2014, 12:37 PM
so it just came apart while running, no crash etc? Not good if so!

fidelity101
08-18-2014, 12:40 PM
Here is a picture of the damage after my first run on 8S.