PDA

View Full Version : What is a good charger for charging 4S batteries???

Mad Racer
11-20-2013, 12:24 AM
Hi.

I'm new to boating and just bought some new 4s batteries but my Quad charger will only put in 3.5 amps at the max setting . I have been told that my charger isn't high in watt output.

So why charger is good without breaking my bank wide open.

Cheers
Mark

LiPo Power
11-20-2013, 01:11 AM
How many watts is your charger?
Any other charger more powerful than yours will give you
more charging power. All up to your budget. You may also
need stronger power supply 12-18-24 volt depending
on charger requirements.

siberianhusky
11-20-2013, 06:19 AM
Powerlab 6 or 8 from Revolectrix. Need a good power supply though to make use of one though.
Not cheap but you would never need another charger for ANYTHING, will charge your lipos all the way up to you vehicle starting battery and everything in between.

oscarel
11-20-2013, 07:22 AM
And no need to break the bank on power supply, one of these (http://www.ebay.com/itm/LOT-OF-2-HP-321632-001-DL380-G4-575W-Redundant-Power-Supply-DPS600-PB-/281207366552?pt=US_Server_Power_Supplies&hash=item417943e398) for 12v or 2 for 24v will make the powerlab happy.

thaynes
11-20-2013, 07:55 PM
Hey Dude....lots of opinions around the forums on chargers BUT...I've have 2 - Triton 2 EQ chargers that I've had for over 5 years and they both have well over 300 cycles on them and they're still going. Not too complicated to set up and use...good manual...they are AC / DC chargers for indoors and at the pond. They can be bought from Tower and RC Planet for $165-$195.00 ea...depending on sales...maybe even cheaper at other places but I haven't seen them and Tower has coupons! They have a good balancing program and that is important on lipos.
Tommy

rickwess
11-20-2013, 08:32 PM
You shouldn't make a habit of charging at a rate higher than 1C. Assuming that you have 5000mAh batteries, that's 5A.