PDA

View Full Version : Poor fit of prop to stub shaft. Video included. .007"of slop, is this normal?

Snowboard_Nut
10-06-2013, 12:18 AM
http://youtu.be/ZU61XhCPac4

Brand new Revolt. Took the prop off to sharpen and balance before the initial run. Right away I notice horrible slop in the fit of the Grim Racer prop to the stock shaft. I am a machinist by trade, and so of course I immediately start taking measurements and discover a .007" of slop in the fit. The prop's ID measure's .191", and the stub shaft measures .184"... The inside of the prop ID looks rough, almost gaulded as though the drill bit was not oiled as it was drilled. So, in regards to both the prop and the shaft, is this level of inprecision to be expected? I would think the stub shaft would be made of stainless center-less ground material resulting in a perfect 3/16"(.1875")...

Cooper
10-06-2013, 12:31 AM
You are right but unfortunately chinglish measurements equal a 3/16 shaft and inner diameter hub of .187. Tighten the hub nut and your good to go.

Snowboard_Nut
10-06-2013, 12:36 AM
Thanks Cooper. If I were to buy an Upgrade Cable Assembly from Kintec that claims it's made in the USA, I should get a true .1875" stub shaft, correct? And as far as the prop, is Octura made in the USA? Are they more precise and better QC than Grim Racer props?

martin
10-06-2013, 11:48 AM
Most good quality after market stubs that I use or including ones I make measure .187"- .1875", my Octura props measure .188".

martin
10-06-2013, 11:59 AM
I have heard that ABC make Grimracer props which is a good prop manufacturer in the USA, ive just measured some of my ABC prop bores & they are also .191" - .1915". They have an acceptable fit on my .187" stubs but I understand how much looser it is on a .184" stub.

Mike Caruso
10-06-2013, 02:41 PM
http://youtu.be/ZU61XhCPac4