PDA

View Full Version : New owner of Impulse 31 v2

TJ_RS
07-30-2013, 01:20 AM
Guys,
This is my first time around with this RC Boat stuff. Gotta say I'm really enjoying it. I bought the Impulse 31 v2, and while there are a few things that need to be looked at from the moment you open the box, its a really nice setup.
Again, for the price, its a good quality boat in my perspective.
http://i40.tinypic.com/16isfg0.jpg

After doing a few updates to the drive gear,(OSE upgrade flex cable and Etti coupler) I got out Friday and made a few passes playing with the position of the batteries. Didn't mess a whole lot with the tabs or stut since on 4S I got it to turn and track straightline perfectly.
But when I slapped on a pair of 3S packs, Handling went to sh1t. Top speed was awesome though. An uncontrollable awesome. Temps went up everywhere. ESC, Motor, etc.
Maybe with the ABC prop or the X445 I just got I might be able to re-pitch and load it accordingly to bring down RPM. I also got to try Darin's tabs that day. Much nicer cuts thru the turns. Nice and smooth.
Before I start getting crazy with upgraded motors and ESC, I'm gonna get out a few times with my GPS on board and maximize handling efficiency with what I have and start making back to back passes with different props, strut height's and doing some durability tests on 5S and 6S on the stock stuff.
In the mean time, here's pics of some of the upgrades and tools..
.http://i41.tinypic.com/2me1e86.jpg.
.http://i42.tinypic.com/10dzl88.jpg.
.http://i43.tinypic.com/102weao.jpg.

Should be back out here on Wednesday. I'll keep you guys posted.
http://i44.tinypic.com/102t1rm.jpg

TJ_RS
07-30-2013, 01:27 AM
Also any input is welcomed!

GLRE Raptor
07-30-2013, 11:55 PM
Just ran mine tonight with GPS in it.

Prather s225 prop
6s-46.1 mph in really rough water and boat running very wet. Never went wot for more than a few short burst

4s- 36.9mph. The whole time.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus

waterproof
07-31-2013, 07:12 AM