PDA

View Full Version : New Miss Geico 24" owner - Hello!

yogix
06-30-2013, 06:14 PM
Hi all

I'm a proud owner of a new Miss Geico 24". I am a newbie so have been searching google for tips on using the boat, charging battery, etc. I have just got some marine grease to do the flex shaft.

I just had a quick look inside and noticed that nothing was stuck down. There are sticky pads to fix it all down. Is this normal. I have attached a pic of the inside.

Maybe in the future I would like to upgrade the motor and other bits but in the UK prices seem to be quite high. Does anybody have any recommendations!

Thanks

J.W. Pepper
07-01-2013, 05:43 PM
...I just had a quick look inside and noticed that nothing was stuck down. There are sticky pads to fix it all down. Is this normal...
Not at all unusal for ESC's to come loose in transit. Replace the "sticky pads" with heavy duty velcro, that's what I use to hold mine down and they stay put.

I've been looking into getting one of these boats lately because I want a cat. My upgrade plans are to replace the stock motor & ESC with a PB 1500Kv motor & ESC from a MG 29 version-1 because I already have the parts on hand.

These guys have the best prices on Dynamite & PB motors... http://www.advantagehobby.com/215909/DYNM3835/ -- and -- http://www.advantagehobby.com/84784/PRB3310/?cat=277 - PB ESC's are way overpriced. This a better alternative... http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=17441 wait for a few minutes and a box will pop up with a "one time offer" of about $41.00(aus).

Batteries: Run it on 3S LiPo's, there's plenty of room for them, manual says to move the batts fore-n-aft to balance the boat.

Props: Stock prop is the same as Octura y534, so with BL I'm going to try y535 or Octura m435/3 and go from there.

Good luck & welcome to the forum.

Hi all