PDA

View Full Version : making mold from plastic? for boat part

Zackthrills
06-09-2013, 11:46 PM
Hey everyone I was wondering as I am New to ask the body world, how can I make a mold from a plastic part them use that mold to make a carbon fiber part? Doing the carbon fiber I understand to some degree , I am just lost when it comes to making a mold of something that it will be hard so not to flex or lose shape of original plastic part? Then I will try to duplicate it from the mold using carbon fiber or a mixture of carbon fiber and kevlar weave. Any help and help on where to get products to make mold would be great thank you so much everyone.

grsboats
06-10-2013, 11:10 AM
Could you please post a pic of this part?Depending on its shape it can be a hard task as plastic parts are released from molds in different ways. Gill

Zackthrills
06-10-2013, 11:26 AM
Ok this is what I'm doing. I am going to take a current hull that I have with capsule and I want to copy the shape and then use the reverse side to make another hull out of either carbon fiber or a two part of Kevlar and Carbon fiber weave. Max length of the hull is 56". I also thought about making a 2 peice carbon fiber or both Kevlar n carbon fiber weave rigger either 26" or bigger not sure yet. What do you think Gsr?

grsboats
06-10-2013, 11:49 AM
Before anything I would go to http://www.acpsales.com/home.html and see what you can do with cf or c.f/kvlar. 56" boat means a big set of molds so I would start with small pieces before go up that lenght. 26" is a good size boat to learn the tips and tricks of the molding world.Gill

Zackthrills
06-10-2013, 12:34 PM
Yes that's true. Your right start asks then if I me up its not so bad. Do you know of any good reads on doing kind of what I'm looking to do? That would be great. Thanks so much.

grsboats
06-10-2013, 12:58 PM
This is a good start point.check this out: http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-Fiberglass-Molding Gill

Zackthrills
06-10-2013, 01:39 PM