PDA

View Full Version : Barbwiire or MiniMono Stock - Advice for a Newbie

Talan2000
05-29-2013, 02:01 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm new to RC in general and brand new to RC boats (first post!)...stepping up from a sad little Zig Zag Racer 3 whose motor is rusted and waterlogged but who still chirps away optimistically for a few minutes...anyway, as a newbie I've been lurking and reading and watching videos.

I know I would love to have a Revolt 30 -- eventually. But 300 is a bit too much right now - especially as one gets sucked into all these myriad upgrades and the headaches they bring to a newbie. And I really would prefer 10-15 minutes of driving around rather than 2-3 minutes of straight line speed then...recharging..

So - I think I've narrowed down my first real boat choice to ... the MiniMono OR the Barbwire (which I just stumbled upon in the forums). I like the idea of brushless motors and LiPo.

My usage will be on freshwater ponds varying from small (50x50yards) to medium size (100yds by 50yrds wide say). I'd love to be able to use LiPo instead of NIMH or other batteries to leverage my investment from RC car batteries.

which of these boats would you recommend given my usage goals? Or would you say save up for a Miss Geico 24 (or 17) or Mystic or Motley Crew or UL-1 (I read that poll survey of 1st boats :)

Thanks in advance - and any other advice about changing out the drive (?) in either option or other easy & cheap upgrades to Mini or Barbwire would be much appreciated (especially links!)

Gracias

Todd

Gabe_k
05-29-2013, 05:38 PM
the barbwire is all you need, you will not regret it

Gabe_k
05-29-2013, 05:39 PM
I have a MG 29, UL-1, Mini Mono and a few others, the barbwire is by far the best bang for your buck. (I drive it the most as well)

jetskier
05-29-2013, 06:24 PM
Barbwire!!! Atomik hit the jack pot on this one.

Talan2000
05-29-2013, 07:15 PM