PDA

View Full Version : Building Options

Assocracer
05-23-2013, 05:21 PM
I need to make a hatch for a boat hull that I have no hatch for. What are my building options? Since I can't seem to get anyone to help with some kind of tutorial on fiberglassing I'll ask what my building options are.

G-UNIT
05-23-2013, 05:29 PM
Google fiberglassing or fiberglass molds.
with out getting into detail, make a hatch out of balsa wood, aply a releasing agent like wax, ext then lay down some resin then some fg then resin then fg mat then fg cloth ect,
let dry and then seperate the balsa mold from the fg,
I'm not an expert put you should see what I mean when you see it on a you tube vid.
It does get messy and you might have to try it a few times to get the prosses down, sorry about the spelling, hope this helps.

Assocracer
05-23-2013, 05:49 PM
That's kinda what I thought. I was thinking of making the mold out of styrofoam and then covering it with either aluminum foil or wax paper and gluing that down to the foam, then using a release agent over that. I figured styrofoam because the hatch isn't a nice rectangle, it's kinda funky shaped (it's an old boat)

So basically I apply some resin, then do I let that dry or do I apply some mat right away? Do I let each layer dry first or just keep adding layers? How many layers should I add? I've tried looking up stuff on you tube but it's not very helpful.

Praxis
05-23-2013, 08:32 PM
The hatch doesn't need to be very strong. I would build a plug out of styrofoam, glass it, and let it dry. Clean it up and put some release agent on it. From here, you have two choices. You can either use the plug to build a reverse mold (this is the right way to do it - the outside will look cleaner) or you can just build the part on the plug and be done with it. Either way make very sure that you put a lot of release agent on your plug or you are never getting it apart.