PDA

View Full Version : motor, esc, battery, prop combo for a 18 to 20 " deep vee

hoffy
02-23-2013, 09:29 AM
I'm new to this and have been reading alot and seem a little overwhelmed. I used to play with rc boats along time ago but things are alot different now. I have ordered a 50amp birdie esc, Flex Shaft Suite Magic Cat, a 75 rudder,cheap hk 3 channel radio, I also order a few props from 27 to 36 dia.,other than that I dont have any running gear. I am not completely sure if the stuff I got will work???I also so have an old linburg pt 109 fresh out of damp basement, not been played with for 30 years. I got a brushed motor and a brushed esc to put in it. I haven't really got a clue as what to put in the deep vee, it is wood. I am building it now and may build a larger one but for now just need gear info for a 18 to 20 inch one. I was thinking of using about a 2s or 3s battery pack. I am not sure what motor or what battery pack. The 20c ,50c thing I dont understand completely. I am guessing it will depend on the motor? I know it is discharge rate but dont know how to get a correct amount. I also am unsure of the drive shaft as it has a plastic tube not a copper one. Will I need to put a copper tube over it? I was going to put the shaft under the boat just to keep it cheap. I am not to worried about racing as this is just for fun on a pond, If I build a bigger one then faster would be a great idea. I just dont want to put a lot of cash in this one. Sorry for newbe questions. If you can please keep language to the level of a newbe. :scared:

Basstronics
02-23-2013, 10:02 AM
Thats what we call a submerged setup since the prop will always be in the water. If it came out the transom its a surface setup since half the props in the water.