PDA

View Full Version : Question about a motley crew boat...

rhgraphix
01-20-2013, 12:18 AM
A friend has a motley crew. Just got a big crack down the side. I know it can be repaired, but does anyone know where to buy a new hull. Also if you have any suggestions to a better option as far as a hull. One that will accept all the hardware right away??? Don't know what is the best to do. I'm a newbie. Thanks

mtbenjamin77
01-20-2013, 12:48 AM
I have a brand new Motley Crew hull I was planning on building, but I'm currently building so many other boats for the local guys I don't have time. PM me if your interested. As far as using another hull and just swapping out the components, if you're a newbie that can be a more difficult task then it seems and you run the risk of having a boat that doesn't perform as well.

JimClark
01-20-2013, 02:33 AM
Moved to Motley Crew forum

siberianhusky
01-20-2013, 10:51 AM
What do you want to do with it?
I've got an H&M drifter S thats screaming fast with almost the same stuff as a motley crew, turns like a pig on ice though!
I've also got a Motley, if I ever build another cat I think it will be a Mean Machine, fast and corners well. The long skinny cats do well in straight line speed but don't corner the best, I don't run my drifter very often because I prefer turning!
Lots of info on here about the Mean Machine, quite a few youtube videos as well, take a look and see if you like them, they are a pretty popular boat. Should run pretty good with a Motley setup.

rhgraphix
01-20-2013, 11:31 AM
Thanks for the info. I do like that mean machine hull.

kingwrench
01-20-2013, 02:57 PM
Would be better if you sent the operator of the proboat miss geico to drivers school

rhgraphix
01-20-2013, 03:30 PM
That is true!!!

skater368
10-08-2013, 08:35 PM
Want to sell your drifter?

siberianhusky
10-09-2013, 06:39 AM
Drifter is long gone, sold it before the ice melted on the pond.