PDA

View Full Version : 1/10 Spirit of australia.

Richie the shipwright
12-23-2012, 04:44 AM
Hi everyone. Just thought id share a bit of "christmas spirit" with you all. Here are a few pics of one of my current projects, Ken Warbys Spirit of australia at 1/10 scale (860mm). As much as id love to put a jet in it, I will be using brushless power and prop drive. Been doing a build thread on another forum, but id like to share the process with as many people as i can. Im new to brushless/lipo power systems as ive been away from the hobby for a decade, but prior to that i only ever built and ran electric boats ( good old days! 540motors& nicads Woo-hoo!). My work as a shipwright has also taught me a trick or two. This boat is scratch built from a combination of balsa / ply / foam / glass / carbon / kevlar. I am building from a line drawing supplied on forum by marker ( thanks heaps mark!!) Been a fun build so far, the transition at rear from square deckline to round transom was a challenge to get right. The hatch will be foam/ glass. When it comes to powering this one up i will be seeking some expert advice. (Is there a doctor in the house???) Hope you like the pictures, ill post some progress photos later. Hope you all have a really nice christmas!

nata2run
12-23-2012, 05:04 AM
This looks really cool, subscribed!! In SA to by the way...

785boats
12-23-2012, 10:24 AM
Hi Richie. And Merry Christmas to ya.
Very nice work.
I've always loved this boat & being an Aussie, I've always wanted to build one. But I could never track down any decent drawings.
Any chance of a link to the drawings or a contact for 'Marker'?
I've got to finish off Donald Campbell's Bluebird first. But you've inspired me on this one again.

egneg
12-23-2012, 10:42 AM
Hi Richie, good to see you here. I am the one that hooked you up with Doc. Hopefully he will be along shortly.

srislash
12-23-2012, 07:39 PM