PDA

View Full Version : Quick charge?

RHurley
12-13-2012, 11:09 PM
I am new to RC in general so im sure this is a noob question but here goes.

I bought 2 Turningy 5000mAh 4S 20C lipos and the imax B6AC charger from this site. I charged them up for the first time last night and it took around an hour per battery @2.5 amp..

The question is how mcuh higher can I safely go to speed up the charge rate? the charger has a quick charge option but I have no idea if thats something I can use with these batteries.

Any help would be GREAT!

Thanks

JimClark
12-13-2012, 11:37 PM
I like 1C which would be 5 amps

lenny
12-13-2012, 11:43 PM
You charged them at 2.5 amps for a 5000mah lipo,
That is half there C rate.
1C is 5000Mah and that = 5 amp.
Just like 4500mah would = 4.5 amps for charging.
1C is a good safe charge rate,
In less that info on the cell say they can handle more than 1C.
Fast charge,
I have the same thing on my charger but do not used it.

bob_t
12-14-2012, 12:04 AM
On my charger, if I use "fast charge" mode, it will not balance the cells. I use the "balance charge" mode at a little less than 1C. At the price for decent Lipos, I want to keep my batteries happy (balanced !!) and give them a good, long life, even if it takes a little longer to charge them.

siberianhusky
12-14-2012, 08:50 AM
I don't balance charge ever at the pond, only before going out then I do balance charge up from storage voltage.
Good quality packs don't need it, I check the voltage of individual cells before charging and the always have .02 or less of a volt difference after a run, then just charge them at about 1.5c no balance, then check them before running and they are always very close, at least as close as they show after balancing.
I wouldn't suggest this for budget packs like Turnigy, Hayin, Gens Ace etc. The cells are not matched well enough from the factory.