PDA

View Full Version : Hello, new to this

Test0055
06-12-2008, 12:02 PM
Hello everybody. I'm new to RC boating but have been flying RCplanes and helicopters for 9 years. I have also had the odd RCcar here now and then but never owned a boat.

This boating interest all started very resently in my RCflying club where we meet once a week to build planes, now lately we've experimented to build some home made boats and well, yeah... Now we wanna real boats! :)
Two days ago, I knew nothing about RCboating, today I found this website and ordered a SV27. Did some research on the WWW and the SV27 seem to be a good first boat with speed to spare... Another flier in my club also ordered one, and one guy has a Auacraft Hammer EP.... Oh yes, the race is on!

Small Q for you old salty's:
---------
-What performance would I get on 3c 2250mah Lipo in parallel or single pack? (I know 14v is prefered, but I have many new 11.1v packs I want to use first, then I go 4cell 14.2v)

Oh, I was almost ordering my SV27 from Towerhobbies today, then I found this site and this forum.
I rather spend my money to a specialized company like OSE than the generic TH and I also hope to find help and good reading here on the OSE forums.

T5- FINLAND

Doby
06-12-2008, 12:29 PM
Welcome:welcome:

I ran mine on 3s for a trial run,,,it went OK, but was not very entertaining.:sleep:

Test0055
06-12-2008, 02:13 PM
Thanks Doby

Me, having no previous experience of RCboats will surely be entertained if it moves just a bit :)
I'll order a 4c LiPo pack, but think I start with the 3cell just to test the boat... I have 3cell 2250mah packs with Deans connector laying around.

Test0055
06-12-2008, 04:12 PM
//Originally there was a question here about driving in salty water, now I did some searches and got it sorted

I will not post questions in the forum before searching.

I will not post questions in the forum before sea......

:) :)

Doby
06-13-2008, 10:00 AM