PDA

View Full Version : Stock ul1 motor....



SpeedFreak_86
11-07-2012, 10:07 PM
Can the stock revolt motor handle 6s?

dana
11-07-2012, 10:42 PM
i dunno which motor youre asking about ul1 or revolt, but the answer is neither can handle 6s

SpeedFreak_86
11-07-2012, 10:56 PM
Ok thanks

cugino
11-08-2012, 05:04 AM
Dana: Why?

Have you ever used it with 6S and small prop in small boat? I did, overall efficiency was good. So, i dont know any reason why not to use this motor on 6S in specific applications. All optimized setups are specific application.

longballlumber
11-08-2012, 08:24 AM
The specs for each motor are on Tower's website... The upper limit for both motors is 18.5v

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXVSV3&P=Z

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXZGW6&P=M

Later,
Mike Ball

cugino
11-08-2012, 09:01 AM
I understand now. So why the motor performs well outside spec? I am very confused now.

dana
11-08-2012, 09:22 AM
Cugino, maybe you've been lucky so far. Many of these motors have cooked running outside spec. Only a matter of time

Chilli
11-08-2012, 09:32 AM
That motor is probably under rated since many of us push more than 50 amps continuous through it. But when running above the manufacturing specs, you do risk burning it up or in this case the motor coming apart from excessive rpm's.

siberianhusky
11-08-2012, 10:01 AM
For a couple of SAW passes then bring it in, with the right prop and a perfect setup it will PROBABLY work for at least a while, for general sport running you'd be much better off with a lower kv.
They are a pretty good, tough little motor but not in the same league as a NEU, I don't think it would live for very long on 6s regardless of the use, thats a lot of rpm and potential amperage for a mid range motor.
I think you would have to run so small a prop to keep the load under control you might even end up slower, I run one in a near 60mph drifter s on 4s, couple passes and things are getting HOT, datalogged at 109 amps. Absolutely no more than 1 minute of runtime! The motor is the weak link or fuse in that setup.

SpeedFreak_86
11-08-2012, 11:58 AM
I'm prolly just going to run my leopard 3674 in the revolt then...... I know its good 6s lol

cugino
11-08-2012, 12:22 PM
Ok, thank you for explanation. I was confused, because i bash my shockwave five years with very smilar setup with very low amper draw and without any problem so far.

If you are interested, try look here. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcyjlySmysg

Motor used in this setup has very similar KV. Schockwave runs very wet on video, because the leaves kicked the rudder beck from transom. In clear watter it is much faster and realy flies.

Niky
11-15-2012, 06:36 AM
Hi Guys,
anybody has some comment about the Revolt, specially some issue?
Please if someone heard something, write.
The Spartan even the Impulse V2 is big disappointments, maybe the Revolt could be the "centered".
Thanks all, Niky.

Fluid
11-15-2012, 07:40 AM
Niky, there are 80 threads discussing the Revolt here: http://forums.offshoreelectrics.com/forumdisplay.php?113-**NEW**-AquaCraft-Revolt-Mono-Q-amp-A



.