PDA

View Full Version : Does BlackJack 29 have a voltage cutoff for lipos?

civileng68
10-21-2012, 10:24 PM
I'm new to this hobby in a sense, at least with lipos.

With that said, today I had my first battery failure (failed cell, swollen lipo). I was just curious if there was a way in running the boat that it let me know when the batteries were at a certain, "safe" voltage to pull the boat in without draining it? Right now I'm just playing a guessing game.

If not, is there ANYTHING that I can buy to add inside the boat that will give me a live readout of the voltage of the batteries that works "in line" with the system (to where I dont have to disconnect anything and can just bring it to the shore and peek in to see the numbers)? I really dont want to go too low, but, with that said, what is the lowest you guys try to take your lipos down per cell when running them?

Also, if Im running my boat just on weekends now (since its getting dark earlier), do I need to discharge batteries for that week between or are they ok for that period of time to be topped off?

Jason4636
10-22-2012, 04:22 AM
I started timing my runs. I run 4s2p. Start out with a 2 min. run. Then fully charge your batteries back up. Note how much mha it takes to top them off. Whatever your size of battery is you don't wanna discharge it more than 80%. So if you have a 5000mha battery, You shouldn't ever put more than 4000mha back in it. If you do shorten your run times.

They do make an alarm for a lvl, you can hear it and know to pull your boat back in. I just time my runs.

On charging your batteries, if you don't have a charger that has a storage charge mode in it. You might wanna look at a new charger. The most I ever keep my batteries at 100% charge is a max of 2 days. But I always balance mine everytime I charge mine. Plus if I know I'm not going to run my boat for a day or two. I always set the charger to storage charge.

civileng68
10-22-2012, 12:18 PM