PDA

View Full Version : Blackjack 29 mods

civileng68
10-21-2012, 12:56 AM
Just curious about a couple of mods for the Blackjack 29. Please keep in mind, I'm new to this game. I have had an Elam Plus, but never felt comfortable with the stock version due to it's desire to be an airplane more than a boat and I never felt comfortable drilling into my boat as a newbie.

Regarding the motor, this boat I am running hard and the motor gets HOT (at least hot in my opinion, compared to running around 70% throttle on the less powerful Elam motor (1,500). I notice the water in runs directly to the ESC first and then to the motor. Is the water going into the motor already warm and less effective? If so, would it help at all if I were able to split the line in between the ECS and the Motor so each gets freshly cooling water and then have another outlet put on the other side of the boat to release the water? I'm curious if this is necessary and if since the hole for the inlet is still the same size if it just reduces the pressure going through the system.

Also.......if I just wanted to run at slower speeds (yes sometimes I like to cruise it), and thus dont get high pressure water moving through the system, does the motor get hotter? Is it "harder" on the motor to actually go slower and the boat trudge through the water with a bigger wake or does it not matter?

Lastly......is there a better prop for this boat that won't tear things up due to stress? Would it make much difference? I'm running 2s 5300 dynamite lipos.

mtbenjamin77
10-21-2012, 02:06 AM