PDA

View Full Version : Need to be able to connect two balancing plugs for data logging

1945dave
10-17-2012, 12:42 PM
I know for charging purposes there are ballancing boards that will allow connecting two identical batteries so they can be charged at the same time. However, I would like to be able to connect two ballancing plugs for a series connected battery setup for data logging. Any suggestions?

marko500
10-17-2012, 12:58 PM
I use y adapters for series charging lipos. I got the adapters from here and made up what I needed. http://rclipos.com/Accessories.htm

jcald2000
10-18-2012, 06:52 AM
Premade cables for this I have been using them for charging on my PL8 charger for 3 years.

http://www.progressiverc.com/adapter-cables-and-boards/balance-cables

1945dave
10-18-2012, 10:17 AM
Thanks Jim and Mark. I will work with your suggested links and see if I can find what I need. The problem though is it is easy to charge LiPo's using "y" adapters or balancing boards. My need involves trying to isolate each individual cell for data logging purposes and that requires a series circuit. The parallel charging circuits marry one cell to the other cell and do not isolate each cell individually. For example, the "y" connectors for charging purposes generally have two female connectors on one end and only one of the same type male connectors on the other end, a true parallel connection. In my case I need to take two male 2S ballancing connectors from the batteries and plug those into two female 2S connectors and output that to one male 4S connector on the other end. Sounds simple but so far I have not found a source. Perhaps I need to find individual connectors and wire it up myself.

Dave

marko500
10-18-2012, 11:33 AM
Dave if I understand you correctly what you describe is what I use for charging. I charge 2-2s packs in series. My connectors have 2 female plugs at one end and 1 male 4s plug at the other. Is that what you need or do I need another cup of coffee. lol