PDA

View Full Version : Hey Guys anyone know what motor I can upgrade to with stock esc?

Killah2469
10-10-2012, 01:49 AM
Hello people I'm new to this Rc boating hobby and I have a stock Rio ep. I am running a 7.4v 5000mah NiMh i would really like to upgrade the motor before the esc and was wondering what motor I can use with the stock esc even if I have to cut down runtimes to cool everything down. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is a video of my second run with it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jynp5cZgIfc

Killah2469
10-10-2012, 01:53 AM
Also what is a good brushed combo motor and esc to run in this boat I'd like to stay brushed for now.

lenny
10-13-2012, 10:18 PM
Hey,:tiphat:
That was my first rc boat and did a lot of testing and modding to it,
I bought it used on CL for 75.00.
Brushed I had it running pretty good and used a 8.4v nimh on stock motor and esc and ran the sh*t out of it,
And the motor got hot a lot and burned the brushes up a few times on me.
The first Esc burned out in the stock location,
Pushing a p230 on 8.4v prop at that time.:lol:
The first Esc's were very weak that they put in it, Bad QC.
When I got the new esc Warranted I mounted it on top of the motor cooling coil,
It worked a lot better there in the open and stayed cooler and easy to check on too.
Top speeds about 20mph,

Than I modded and went brushless on 2s and then 3s gps at 32 mph and stable.:buttrock:

Hear some good modding info a friend of mine was doing AKA tunnelvision. http://forums.offshoreelectrics.com/showthread.php?16758-Best-bang-for-the-buck-7.2-7.4-volts-single-battery

This is mine on 3s. :popcorn2:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GV1FVBUuQLQ&feature=plcp

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6PNKDr5o5FI&feature=plcp

TTYL.

Make-a-Wake
10-14-2012, 01:10 AM
Throw a Graupner 8.4vBB in it on 4s and look out!!

tlandauer
10-14-2012, 02:19 AM