PDA

View Full Version : Fully charged Lipos...

Checkmateguy01
07-29-2012, 08:48 PM
Simple question, how long is it safe to leave Lipos fully charged with out using them? I charged both sets of my lipos this weekend but never got the opportunity to run my boats, so I'll have to wait till next weekend to get a couple runs in. I ask because I've heard that lipos will puff if left fully charged for any length of time, I'm still pretty new to lipo so I don't know. Thanks!

MR2NR
07-29-2012, 11:26 PM
How old are your batts? If they are fairly new I'd say you will be fine letting them sit for a week. They really don't puff as much just being fully charged that usually comes from letting them get too low voltage and charging them right after a hard pull. Letting them sit fully charged just degrades capacity. If you don't plan on running it for more than a week or two discharge them to the 3.8-3.6V per cell storage rate.

iamandrew
07-30-2012, 03:18 AM
Ive got some 5S 5000MAH Flightmax packs, i left them sit there for 3 weeks fully charged, when i went to charge them again i got about 30mah back into the pack before it cut off.

I havent really had lipos fully charged sitting there for a year doing nothing yet though, but none of my Digital cameras that have lipo batteries have needed their batteries replaced in 3 years

Fluid
07-30-2012, 06:08 AM
...If you don't plan on running it for more than a week or two discharge them to half there full voltage per cell.
I am sorry but this is very wrong and dangerous advice! You DO NOT discharge LiPo cells to half their voltage (2.1 volts) as this will ruin them. Never discharge a LiPo cell below 3 volts. Storing voltage for a LiPo cell is between 3.8 and 3.9 volts.