PDA

View Full Version : Brushless first run also need help

wheelnut
05-17-2008, 10:33 PM
Hi guys. I have upgraded using the AMMO 28-35-5100 with the Mamba esc and .047 wire drive. It was running fine and fast, the only problem is the wire drive is not holding up to the power and broke where it was soldered into the prop shaft. I need help to upgrade the drive. But I don't want to pull out the stock stuffing tube. So could you reccommend what to fit in there. The stock stuffing tube is approx 1/8"
Thanks for any help.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0A8fHa8zeNc

Diegoboy
05-17-2008, 10:36 PM
.098 man, Still think it's excessive?

wheelnut
05-17-2008, 10:43 PM
Thanks, Since I am no pro, can you ellaborate on that a little.
First thing I need to know is what all hardware I need to get it all hooked up. I am pretty sure the motor shaft is 1/8" and so is the stuffing tube.

Diegoboy
05-17-2008, 10:54 PM
I'm sure there is a wire that would do it right, but I have no experience with wire drives. The .098 would require a new stuffing tube, and I'm still debating if I want to go through the removal of the stock one.

wheelnut
05-18-2008, 12:10 AM
Why would a .098 need a new stuffing tube? 1/8 converts to .125 wich is larger than .098. So .098 cable will fit in a 1/8 stuffing tube right?

Diegoboy
05-18-2008, 03:51 AM
not with the teflon liner

SJFE
05-18-2008, 10:30 AM
So why not a .62 wire? Guy's what's the issue with pulling the factory tube? Heat it up crack the epoxy and pull right?

wheelnut
05-18-2008, 10:52 AM
This hull is very thin and I don't want to risk ruining it by trying to pull out the stock stuffing tube, and its not worth all the work it will take to repair it if it does get ruined.

I am interested in the .062 wire. Would you care to elaborate on that a little? What would it attach to at the prop end? I am not familiar with setting up wire or flex shaft drives.
Thanks

SJFE
05-18-2008, 11:54 AM