PDA

View Full Version : Water cooling information

Mike Caruso
07-03-2012, 12:08 PM
Hi Folks',

I Love this place.
My new Re Volt should arrive today or Thursday.

I have been a racer since 1972 IMPBA 4261-S. Here is what I do for a living http://www.aera.org/tech-center/tech-hotline scroll down to me! I was reading late last night a thread about cooling. I think this site will explain what you need to know is on this site http://www.stewartcomponents.com/tec...ech_Tips_6.htm

Old wives tale I was there at that time.
In the 60's the car Drag race people complained that the small block Chevy 283 cu"or bored out to 301cu" @ 6500-7000+ was overheating. They thought it was because the water was moving through the engine too fast! And not being able to transfer the heat from the cast iron to the water. Their reason for this .... was if they changed the water pump pulley to crankshaft pulley ratio to slow the water pump down the engine DID cool better.
They slowed the STOCK water pump down to an RPM at which cavitation was reduced.

The truth is.
The STOCK water pump did have cavitation @ 6500-7000+ with stock ratio pulley's making the water into A+W Root Beer foam ( wish I had some now) which reduces the ability of the water to remove head.

I worked with Howard Stewart in the late 80's and along in the 90's when he built the first water pump Dyno. I know it is for racing engines but, we can still apply the basics and the one BIG ONE is keeping solid stream water...... not A+W Root Beer foam.
Anyway back to work and have a good 4th. Remember light fuse and get away fast !!!!!
Glad to be aboard.

Mike Caruso

Fluid
07-03-2012, 12:51 PM
Mike makes an excellent point about solid water flow. This is another reason why a propwash water pickup is inferior to a rudder pickup - it ingests a lot of air along with the water. So it has more drag, less cooling, and is one more thing to break.

iamandrew
07-03-2012, 06:38 PM