PDA

View Full Version : CC hydra 240 hv

Steve McGinley
06-27-2012, 11:13 AM
Hello everyone, I just picked up a Castle Creations hydra 240 hv and I was wondering if anyone had photos of this esc mounted and connected in an impulse 31. I bought it from a friend who never used it. I am not sure how to make the connections and also I was reading this esc does not have an internal bec. I am looking for a setup that will easily do 60 mph. If anybody could recommend a solid motor, propeller, battery setup and possibly attach some pictures of the hydra installed I would greatly appreciate it. Do I solder the battery and motor connectors together into one large connector??........Do I purchase a seperate bec?? Or run an additional power supply to the receiver?? This forum is the best, you guys are great! Im fairly new to the hobby but I have been instantly hooked! I have alot to learn though, I also dont quite understand how to determine what kind of motor to use, kv?, size,....etc....??

Stephavee
06-30-2012, 01:12 AM
Ok i use the CC 10a BEC on my 6s boat. as for advice on the other stuff to get you "easly" doing 60mph!??? It sounds like you are new to boats! 60mph is not that easy to get! you need to know how to set your boat up pretty well for those speeds. Its not a matter of what motor, but how to keep your boat on the water! I like to see boat crashes so promise me you'll put them on you tube!
Leapord 4074 1800kv should get you there on 6s Im running a 3674 and i run @ 57.5mph....But theres nothing easy about it! your gonna have your hands full!!!

Hope you like swimming

The best advice i can give you is save that esc and postpone your 60mph goals until you learn the basics first!

Steve McGinley
06-30-2012, 03:49 AM