PDA

View Full Version : New MG Owner

NorthernWaters
06-07-2012, 07:25 AM
Hey all.... I have a MG on order so I can run the ponds with my dad.... I have a couple questions for everyone.

I have read about the flex shaft issues..... How do I determine if the stock one is the correct one?

will the stock 45a ESC be ok with (2X) 2s 5000mah 45c lipos?

Other than adding batteries, I want to run the MG stock out of the box before I get hooked into upgrading... Heh Heh! Speaking of, what are some of the easier upgrades?.... Prop suggestions?

Thanks in advance

PS.... I am completely new to this so o easy on me...:tongue:

NorthernWaters
06-07-2012, 10:16 PM
OK.... the MG has been officialy ordered....... The wait begins.

Still awaiting some feedback on my above post..... I really want to order the correct batteries for the RTR set up.

lectriglide
06-07-2012, 11:13 PM
Shaft issues were corrected a loooong time ago, so that should be a non-issue. The stock electronics are fine with 2 x 2s 45c 5000's. Prop upgrade with the stock equipment would be the X642. Time to do a lot of reading on this forum, lots and lots of good info.

Nealkot
06-08-2012, 10:30 AM
I agree with lectriglide, just don't put too big a prop on that sucker and the stock esc will be fine on 4s. I would get a SK180 (esc) though, then the sky is the limit.

HYDROJERRY
06-08-2012, 12:52 PM
Enjoy what you get for now bro,, the batteries will be an upgrade from Nimhs so theres your first upgrade!!! i agree with lectriglide, get a x642 and have some fun for now..:rockon2:

skyhighdiver
06-08-2012, 08:10 PM
I second this
The first step after a prop is to get a seaking 180A esc then your covered no matter what you through in her.
I also was going to run stock but after only 3 runs I started the upgrade ladder and now after wrecking one hull in high speed crash, I have 2 as needed a second to play with while I fixed the first.