PDA

View Full Version : Mystic rebuild after crashing full speedinto a kayak

capnswanny
05-21-2012, 02:58 AM
So my buddy Bill did the hard work, I'm doing the body work on my wifes new boat.
This thing was trashed....I'm no pro...we'll see how she turns out.

Darin Jordan
05-21-2012, 10:26 AM
If I could recommend something that would help to minimize this kind of damage in the future, and also add some floatation...

Get yourself some 2lb density 2-Part Expanding foam, and make about a 60cc pour (2oz or so) down each side, from the battery tray forward, holding the boat on it's side and rolling the liquid foam toward the nose (to distribute it evenly along the seam), it will expand out, tying the upper and lower parts of the hull together, and make the front of the boat much more rigid, without adding any appreciable weight...

capnswanny
05-21-2012, 10:55 AM
Thanks for the tip Darin.
That's exactly what Bill did! The nose of that thing is REAL strong now.

Don't know if it will minimize this damage much in the future though, man, it sounded like a gun going off when this rammed full speed into the side of the plastic Wilderness Systems kayak. The guy in the kayak (the boats owner) went into the lake and the boat buckled in the middle. What a fun day at the lake that was!

stadiumyamaha
05-21-2012, 11:33 AM
+1 Darin. Ive done that to one of my geicos after a crash and fit and it's been tough as nails since.
I don't think you can do anything to protect one from a impact like you had though.

JLandwer
05-29-2012, 10:18 PM
Would Great stuff foam work? I was thinking of putting that into the front of my hull to fill in the dead space...

capnswanny
06-02-2012, 09:47 PM
I don't know...if it can handle the moisture and not fall apart it should work. I bet someone on here has tried it.

I laid on some paint and color, gonna clear coat tonight...I'll see how the extra weight works out next weekend hopefully!

LarrysDrifter
06-02-2012, 10:16 PM
Cool paint job.

capnswanny