PDA

View Full Version : Help Please Flex shaft replacement.

boatmanpete
05-02-2012, 08:53 PM
I lost the right hand flex shaft and prop on a very early outing (my own fault of course). Some time later and at huge freight expense a replacement arrived but it is 105 mm too long. I am a Newbie. Do I send it back or can it be cut and fitted. If it can be cut are there any tricks'n'tips

The boat is the Venom King of Shaves. I really loved the way it moved and I want to see it do that again.

:help:

JIM MARCUM
05-02-2012, 09:11 PM
Use a dremel & a 1" 1/32 thick cut-off wheel. Don't get it too hot, quench as you go. JIM:rockon2:

m4a1usr
05-02-2012, 09:14 PM
I lost the right hand flex shaft and prop on a very early outing (my own fault of course). Some time later and at huge freight expense a replacement arrived but it is 105 mm too long. I am a Newbie. Do I send it back or can it be cut and fitted. If it can be cut are there any tricks'n'tips

The boat is the Venom King of Shaves. I really loved the way it moved and I want to see it do that again.

:help:

Easy fix. Do you have any skills in shortening something like this? All you need is a cutting tool and some type of grinder. If you dont have a dremel tool with a cutoff wheel you can use something as crude as a pair of dykes. But your going to need to cut it long if using dykes so you can grind it down to the required length. Actually its a pretty simple in scope. What you need to end up with is the length long enough to slowly cut down in OAL with the grinder while not overheating the flex shaft and ensuring the outer sheath does not unravel as you reduce the OAL. Does that make sense? BTW. Welcome to OSE!

John

SirBudman32
05-02-2012, 09:14 PM
A Dremel and a cut off wheel, no biggie. Cut a little at a time and cool between so not to weaken it.

boatmanpete
05-02-2012, 09:30 PM