PDA

View Full Version : Balance question

TWCFI
04-29-2012, 10:48 PM
I am new to RC electric boats (been at the RC stuff for about 30 years) and have a Proboat Mini C that I am trying to balance. I have read that it should balance about 4" from the transom. The problem is I can not move the battery back far enough to get it to balance anywhere close to that.

So my question is do I add weight to get it to balance out?

In the near future, as the parts are in the mail, this boat will get a brushless setup with an offset rudder, flex drive, and all the bits that go with it. So I would really like to get the balance right so I can get the proper performance from it.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

Bob

larryrose11
07-11-2012, 02:39 PM
Im not sure where ya read the 4 inch from the transom thing.
Here is a vid from one of own (I think)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUerVymJ_mw
Diegoboy, is this your boat?
Anyway, you can see their setup in the vid

Fluid
07-11-2012, 02:59 PM
With the CG 4" ahead of the transom you are at 29% - which is pretty standard for RTR catamarans. This value will change depending on the weight and speed of the boat, the much-faster-than-stock boat in the video certainly uses a higher CG percentage, but the exact value will vary. Does the boat run well now with the pack as far back as you can get it?

graill
07-11-2012, 08:41 PM
I am new to RC electric boats (been at the RC stuff for about 30 years) and have a Proboat Mini C that I am trying to balance. I have read that it should balance about 4" from the transom. The problem is I can not move the battery back far enough to get it to balance anywhere close to that.

So my question is do I add weight to get it to balance out?

In the near future, as the parts are in the mail, this boat will get a brushless setup with an offset rudder, flex drive, and all the bits that go with it. So I would really like to get the balance right so I can get the proper performance from it.