PDA

View Full Version : Why a smaller prop for higher "s" battery?

wht73
03-31-2012, 05:26 AM
Hey guy’s, I’m a newb here to the rc boating thing (my sons and I have many rc buggies,sc trucks,truggies)
and It’s WAY more fun than I thought it would be.

I’m just stumped on the whole prop thing. I guess it’s like pinion gears on land but..

Why a smaller prop for higher "s" battery?

I noticed in surfing this site and reading a lot of posts, that the trend to use a smaller in diameter prop
ie ; 36mm vs 40mm for 4s vs 3s batteries are needed.

Could someone please explain this for me.

I know this is a “general” theory, and it is a combo by combo thing

I just need it to get it into my thick head. :frusty:

Thanks in advance

Chris

wht73
03-31-2012, 05:33 AM
My 1st post on this site and already it's in the wrong section!

What a newb!!

I told ya I had a thick head.

Could someone please move this to prop talk.

Thanks

detox
03-31-2012, 06:16 AM
When you start burning things up you will understand that smaller props will pull less amps. Also some boats handle better using smaller size props.

de-pro
03-31-2012, 08:26 AM
Its all about the amp draw and the ratings of your electronics and the battery.
lower kv motor with more voltage runs much cooler and produces more torque so you can use a bigger prop.
As the kv goes up, your voltage has to come down. Also the size of the boat will determine the setup as well.
These are just the basics and there is lot more factors involved like the C rating of your battery, 2p versus 1p, etc....

electric
03-31-2012, 09:34 AM
The whole thing will drive you crazy, and then at some point the light will come on.
1. The bigger the prop the faster you go(to a point), BUT then your amps go up(more load on the motor) and that generates heat which will burn up your motor and or esc.