PDA

View Full Version : King of shaves p1

DK535
01-31-2012, 08:01 PM
I guess I'm a newb at this but I'm trying to find out what drive dog or what options I have to changing this prop. I have a 640x that I want to run but it fits to loose and the drive dog teeth are to small. I purchased a 3/16 drive dog but the whole is to large for the flex shaft and its loose!! Any suggestions?

lenny
01-31-2012, 09:31 PM
I think you needed this one,http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/proddetail.php?prod=grp-2321
Some times on this boat they change the hole drive setup to .150 or .187 for a better setup.

antslake
02-01-2012, 08:59 AM
I think you needed this one,http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/proddetail.php?prod=grp-2321
Some times on this boat they change the hole drive setup to .150 or .187 for a better setup.

That is the wrong drive dog. The drive shaft of the P1 is not threaded.
There is a sleeve you can buy: http://www.offshoreelectrics.com/proddetail.php?prod=ose-1030
That will adapt your 3/16 prop to the 4mm drive shaft. You can just use the stock drive dog, I can't find the right drive dog that you need on OSE. The whole 4mm setup is a pain to get parts for, and also not very good at supporting larger props. Do not go over 4S either as you are already going to be drawing more amps than the stock ESC is rated for. Mine held up well under the extra stress, and Venom told me that it would, but crapped out once the spikes got up around 120amps, and the constant at 90-100amps.
Do yourself a favor, because you are going to be doing it anyway, and get a 3/16 stinger, and upgrade the shaft and flex cable, and ESC while you are at it. Otherwise just stick to smaller props, like a x438. The x640 would be fine at 3S on the stock drive system.