PDA

View Full Version : Cold weather affecting speed?

wakesurfer8
01-22-2012, 03:35 PM
I have a motley crew with stock electronics and upgraded ose flexshaft. I am running an m445 prop that is s/b. The lipos are 7.4v 100c 6000mah maxamps(they came with the boat when i bought it and i know they are very overpriced). I live in michigan and i ran my boat last about 2&1/2 weeks ago. The temp outside was probly about 40 degrees but no snow. With this setup, i only got 38 mph an i hear of people getting mid to upper 40's. I know that the cold weather affects the power of the lipos, but it still seems a little sluggish for this setup. I adjusted the strut more positive because it was running pretty tight. Would the cold weather and too negative on the strut slow the boat down that much? Also, i have read that the water is thicker when cold due to the molecules lumping together. I am fairly new to rc boating, but want more speed..... can someone help me out?

Fluid
01-22-2012, 03:56 PM
It used to be that LiPos had higher resistance at temperatures under 100*F and thus put out less power. With curent tech LiPos this is much less pronounced. I was reminded of this yesterday when an older set of packs (~4 years old, 25C) was run in 75* weather. The first couple of laps looked pretty pathetic, but then as the packs warmed up the boat picked up quite a bit of speed. The effect is much less with current packs, but then I haven't run at 40*F for many years. I strongly suspect that the low temperatures are robbing you of power, not the minor changes in water density.

wakesurfer8
01-22-2012, 09:25 PM
alright thats what i thought, thanks

wakesurfer8
02-05-2012, 11:29 AM